The Wrong Box

The Wrong Box

The Wrong Box (1966) is a British comedy film made by Salamander Film Productions and distributed by Columbia Pictures. It was produced and directed by Bryan Forbes from a screenplay by Larry Gelbart and Burt Shevelove, based on the 1889 novel The Wrong Box by Robert Louis Stevenson and Lloyd Osbourne.

In Victorian London, elderly brothers Masterman (Mills) and Joseph Finsbury (Richardson), who live next to each other, are the surviving members of a tontine, an investment scheme set up 63 years before, in which the last member stands to receive a fortune. Masterman is attended by his unpromising medical student grandson, Michael (Caine), while his greedy cousins Morris (Cook) and John (Moore), who live in Bournemouth, do their best to keep their annoying uncle Joseph alive there. Masterman, who hasn't talked to his despised brother in many years, summons Joseph to his "deathbed," intending to kill him so that Michael can get the money.

John Mills — Masterman Finsbury
Ralph Richardson — Joseph Finsbury
Michael Caine — Michael Finsbury
Peter Cook — Morris Finsbury
Dudley Moore — John Finsbury
Nanette Newman — Julia Finsbury
Peter Sellers — Dr. Pratt
Tony Hancock — Detective
Valentine Dyall — Oliver Pike Harmsworth
Leonard Rossiter — Vyvyan Alistair Montague
Wilfrid Lawson — Peacock
Thorley Walters — Lawyer Patience
Cicely Courtneidge — Major Martha
Diane Clare — Mercy
Gerald Sim — First Undertaker
Irene Handl — Mrs. Hackett
John Le Mesurier — Dr. Slattery
Peter Graves — Military Officer
John Junkin — 1st Engine Driver

Release date 27th May 1966
Running time 107 minutes Colour